Posted in Random Posts

Bark Treats

8455385-_sx540_

Mmmm, yummy (that’s currently what you should be thinking).

Not the following:

  • why is she speaking dog?
  • is this women a tree hugger?
  • has she lost her mind?

(Side note: no offense to anyone who loves trees, speaks fluent animal or is partially crazy)

This year my momma has been super busy at work, which leaves her almost no time to make yummy treats for me and my little ones. (Awww, poor Liz and little ones.) However, since I am living on my own (for the past two years) with my own kitchen and utensils and ingredients, I have been inspired. Time to take over and do something nice for her for a change. (Plus, the hubby loves coming home to some fresh goodies.)

Normally, I pass on all things sweet and delicious.

A. Because I am always trying to be on a diet (HA, yeah, not my thing.)

B. Because I absolutely, positively, no doubt about it, AWFUL at all things BAKING. I can cook. Hand me a recipe, I’ll whip it up once and then toss it and make my own. But baking… oh man.. bring out my glasses, cookbooks, stools to sit and cry on… wait, what?

BUT… (hehe, inner child giggles), this year I really wanted to try. The only way to get better is to keep on trying, right?

So… I made BARK. And… success! I left it at my mom’s, no notes about who made it, where it came from, or how it got there. And my family was amazed, in absolute CHOCO-Heaven. (Yup, that good.) Therefore, I will share just how easy it was to make this satisfying sweet.

(Side note: this recipe is NOT my own, but very popular among pinterest, cookbooks and other recipe sites.)

Bark Recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter (no margarine allowed)

1 cup light brown sugar

2 cups semi sweet morsels (chocolate chips) – can be milk, dark, vanilla, etc.

About 40 saltine crackers

  1. Set oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare a cookie sheet with tin foil and spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  3. Line saltine crackers across pan until covered.
  4. Grab a small pot, boil the brown sugar and butter. When boiling, lower heat and let simmer for 5-6 minutes.
  5. Pour the toffee (what’s in the pot) over the saltine crackers, spread as evenly as possible.
  6. Place in the oven for 7- 8 minutes.
  7. Take out of the oven and let cool for approximately 3 – 5 minutes.
  8. Pour chocolate chips over saltines and toffee, do not spread.
  9. Wait approximately 3-5 minutes.
  10. Take a spoon or knife, and spread the melting chips evenly over the saltines and toffee.
  11. Optional: place candies, other chocolate, peanuts, any nuts, sprinkles, or whatever on top for a fun twist on this treat!
  12. Place in fridge for about two-three hours for quick cooling.
  13. When done, break into pieces of your choosing and indulge!

 

Enjoy the goodness of sweets my loves,

Liz

Leave a Reply

